The Radical Uprise.

Standard

DSC_0355

DSC_0356

First things first. Can I just say I’m happy to hear I’m not the only blogger who “doesn’t believe” in New Year’s Resolutions? I’m sure there’s a handful of us who don’t, but I enjoyed Aine’s Brooding Blogger not only because she’s a peach, but I can relate to this post 100%.  I could compose my own blog entry, weaving nouns and adjectives into a cozy knit article, but if you want to know my thoughts, simply read Aine’s because I’m paddling in the same boat. Upstream. As I proclaimed to her on Instagram, “Here’s to content!” to which she replied, “To content! …and no resolutions.” It’s been nearly a month since my last entry on this blog, but I’m cutting the ribbon, breaking ground and raising a glass to more content.

DSC_0339

DSC_0338

The suit of stones has been making an appearance in recent tarot readings. Stones are associated with achievement, possessions, practical skills, worldly ambitions, being of the world. “I learned this, at least, by my experiment; that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.” / Henry David Thoreau. I read this suit as real, tangible manifestations. However, one is unable to achieve such without patience, perseverance and discipline. Here’s to branching out and creating a meaningful 2014. Here’s to more content. Here’s to changes.

The past few months have been a time of reflection. I decided to dig up my roots and dust off my given name. It still fits; imagine that. I posted to Instagram, “You can call me Kate. Maybe some day I’ll write a heartfelt zine exploring and explaining my reasons. Maybe I won’t. I’ve shed this skin and I’m tossing it to the wind. Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. RIP @jettavegas.” It’s not a decision I made on a whim. People in “real life” have been incredibly accepting and supportive. I don’t think the folks on the Internet figured out I buried Jetta Vegas in the closet under faded handkerchiefs, dusty photographs and boxes of hand-writtens letters. At any rate, that’s not what this article about (I plan to write a zine about the switch, so keep your eyes peeled if you want the juicy details). Dear readers please take note – This bag of bones, formally know as Jetta Vegas, now wears the name “Kate.” And my name isn’t the only thing changing.

When I began The Radical Uprise, it revolved around one concept – a positive mental attitude. I consistently posted “Seven Ways to Kick this Week’s Ass.” Most of my articles were written with the intention to ignite. Inspire. The trouble I found is there is no one recipe to satisfy everyone’s taste buds. There is no one tonic which promises to cure all ailments. I came to the realization that my “words of wisdom” could become someone else’s recipe for disaster. While I have every intention of providing posts that motivate and inspire, they will wear a different suit. Skip the “self help” section, tilt your head to the right and drag your fingers across the memoirs. My experience. The world through my lens. That is all I can provide. I don’t have the answer, but I have the experience. And while my experience will differ from yours, I can only hope to inspire you through my journey. In the words of Alanis Morissette, “what it all comes down to is that I haven’t got it all figured out just yet.” That said, The Radical Uprise will continue to be a hub for inspiration and motivation, but it will merge into more of a “lifestyle blog.” This is my radical uprise. I thank each of you for your incessant love and support over the past few years. Here’s to a fruitful 2014.

 

I’m off to spend the next two days driving around with my best friend and photographing the coast. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

