Seven Ways to Kick this Week’s Ass.

Standard

8919958187_cede5f66ca_c

I’ve always been a night owl with dreams of catching the worm. I like the idea of waking up early but can’t seem to get a handle on readjusting my sleep schedule. This week’s post is more of a reminder to myself. If it were up to me, I wouldn’t require a drop of sleep. But it’s not. And I require more than just a splash. So much to do, so much to see, but it can be such a cozy paradise under the blankets. I’m constantly torn. I have a history of late nights followed by late mornings, but it’s time to flip the script, so to speak. I am taking this week to focus on adjusting my sleep schedule and nightly habits. You can pretend you are reading a post-it note stuck to my MacBook, as these instructions are nothing but a note to self.

  • Create a bed time. Commit (ah, this word instills much fear in my soul). Stick to it. Don’t start new projects at the end of the night.
  • Create bed time habits. If I want to be asleep by midnight, I try to wrap up my day around 11:30PM. I generally fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow, so the half hour before “bed time” allows me to brush my teeth, wash my face, disconnect from electronics and simply wind down.
  • Practice good hygiene. Look at it as an opportunity to wash away your day’s palette. Take a hot bath or quick shower. I love washing my face before bed. Nothing quite beats that clean, crisp feeling. Better yet, your pillow case will thank you. Change your sheets, as your body sheds skin cells and produces oil daily, which winds up on your linens.
  • Disconnect. Stop checking your phone and refreshing your browser for notifications. If you must occupy your mind, entertain your thoughts by reading a book, taking a night walk, drawing or writing.
  • Drink bed time tea. Consider chamomile, jasmine or peppermint teas to help you unwind and induce ZzZzs. Crown a mug your daily nightcap goblet.
  • Stop eating before bed. We’ve all heard of midnight snacks, but I push the envelope. It isn’t unheard of for me to be in the kitchen making pasta and garlic bread at 11:47 PM in-between episodes of some mediocre Netflix TV show.
  • Give yourself a pep-talk before you drift off. This is where I take a few minutes to let my body know that I’d like to wake up at a certain time. I close my eyes and visualize the time I would like my feet to hit the floor in the morning. “Wake up at seven o’clock. Get up at seven o’clock. Seven o’clock. Seven o’clock. I will wake up at seven o’clock.” Sometimes I write the time I wish to awake on my pillow with my finger. I’m not sure why, but I feel like this helps. Magic.

This site exists because readers like you choose to support it. If you found this article to be of interest, please consider a small donation or visit the shop. Thank you for supporting my creative endeavors. 

Leave a Reply

