Another bus will come.

Standard

Steamy bus rides

I find I am more high-stung these day, and I think it’s just because I have a lot of obligations. I’m sure anyone who’s working multiple jobs while trying to find a balance of work and play struggles with this as well.

This morning on my commute home, I had to catch the 40 line. As I was walking to the main road, I saw the bus pulling up to the stop. My first instinct (and words muttered) were, “Oh shit; That’s my bus.” I ran after it, giving my friend a quick “Goodbye – Catch you later!” I suppose it’s typical for some sort of panic to arise when the bus you need to get home is about to drive away, but here’s the moral of the story: Another bus will come. I wasn’t in a hurry. I didn’t have any time restraints. I had a solid three hours before I had to arrive to my destination, but I allowed anxiety to reign, and I dropped everything and ran towards a bus that was scheduled to arrive at that stop every fifteen minutes for the next thirteen hours. Another bus will come.

Slow down. Breathe. Relax. Another bus will come. And if it doesn’t? It’s not the end of the world. What’s the worst that could happen? My schedule would be delayed, and I would have to endure an hour long walk to get home. The point is, stressing such a petty situation is unnecessary. I now sit in Denny Park, writing this article, as a reminder to you (but mostly myself) to simply chill out. Most things in life aren’t worth getting bent out of shape over. It is true that a lot of opportunities in life come just once. However, King County Metro does not fall into that class.

This site exists because readers like you choose to support it. If you found this article to be of interest, please consider a small donation or visit the shop. Thank you for supporting my creative endeavors. 
Leave a Reply

