02.22.13 Book Worm

Standard

Book Worm

I’ve been in a monogamous relationship this week with Chuck Palahniuk. I’m serious. The only other reading I’ve caught myself dabbling in were food labels and subtitles on Hulu (can’t shake my New Girl obsession).

As with everything good in my life, I do not understand why I waited so long to strap in for the ride. I’ve always enjoyed films based on Palahniuk’s work. I’ve always meant to read the novels on which they were based. I mean to do a lot of things.

I picked up Choke and Diary (Choke because I thoroughly enjoyed the film and Diary because my friend Avery recommended it). earlier in the week, then returned for Fight Club and a second copy of Choke to post my younger brother. Pro tip: Don’t simply recommend books. Purchase a copy and hand it over. From personal experience, I’m more apt to read a book that’s already in front of me, opposed to scribbling down some author someone casually mentions.

Choke. Raw and unadulterated. The kinds of thoughts that slip your mind, but you would never have the guts to broadcast. Delightfully twisted. Palahniuk’s writing style is much different than most writers I recommend, but he is definitely worth tuning in to for a change of pace (See also: Elevated heart rate). Palahniuk is chock-full of witty one-liners (“…it feels like I’m doing a really bad impersonation of myself”), philosophical wisdom (“…torture is torture and humiliation is humiliation only when you choose to suffer”), and descriptions that put you in the same room as the characters (“…Her face doesn’t hide the skull inside”).

Visit your local bookstore this weekend. Save yourself the extra trip and pick up a few of his books at once. Enjoy.

This site exists because readers like you choose to support it. If you found this article to be helpful, please consider a small donation or visit the shop. Thank you for supporting my creative endeavors. 

One response »

  1. Pingback: 02.23.12 / Week in Review | The Radical Uprise

Leave a Reply

