2012/13 / Belated New Year Post.

Standard

I wanted to live 2012 by two words: Do better. Did I fulfill my duty? I would have to smile and say, Yes. 2012 was definitely one of the most adventurous and abundant, not to mention eye-opening year of my life to date.

May 2012 / Vantage, WA.

As stated in the original post, I simply wanted to do better. I wanted to be a better person. A better daughter, friend, lover. My mission was self improvement, to no standards other than my own “I want to become a better person. I want to become more educated and cultured. I want to explore new ideas and uncover new places. I want to dive into new possibilities. I want to be in tune with myself, be completely self reliant, and shape myself into the best person I can become. Every day, in every way, I intend to do better and, simply, be better.” Did I succeed? Certainly. Am I finished? Far from. I still have much to learn. Sights to see. People to meet. Mistakes to make. Do I feel more in tune with myself? Definitely. Did I dive into new possibilities this past year? More than I could have dreamed.

Yet, life is about progression. One foot in front of the other. Whether trail blazing or taking a road more commonly traveled. Pounding pavement. Taking back roads and freeways, dirt trails and city streets. Galavanting through unknown fields and unchartered territory.

This year, my focus is NOW. This moment. This year is about enjoying the journey, not simply the destination. This year is about absorbing every moment and reveling in each moment. I seek a heightened consciousness. Turned on, tuned in. Focused. Here. Now.

I’ve set two goals for myself this year.

  1. Become a better writer.
  2. Travel, travel, travel.

I hope you will join me in 2013. 2012 has been a remarkable experience, and I look forward to what 2013 will bring. Thank you, all, for your support, kind words, and existence. People like you have allowed TRU to thrive, and for that I am both blessed and grateful.

Onward!

If you found this article helpful, please consider a small donation to The Radical Uprise. This site exists because readers like you choose to support it. Please click here to submit a donation or drop by the shop. Thank you for supporting my creative endeavors. Stay radical. X

Leave a Reply

