Family Matters.

Standard

Not sure if you’ve noticed or not, but I’ve taken a brief hiatus from the Internet lately (specifically this site). My younger brother was in town visiting from Cincinnati, so we were making the most of our time together. I haven’t been able to spend any quality time with him in nearly a year, so it was nice to play catch-up and do the sibling bonding thing. Our adventures consisted of  doing the tourist bit at Pike Place Market, climbing in Leavenworth, camping, hiking Mt. Si, drinking booze in the park, learning to slack line, buying books, eating good food, climbing at Exit 38 and 32 and more. Needless to say, it was an action packed week and a half, and I think I sent him home with some good memories.

Let’s just say I was a huge pain in the ass growing up. I constantly picked fights with my brothers and tested my parent’s patience to no end. Things are great now. I’ve grown up and we’ve all gotten extremely close over the past few years, but it wasn’t all sugar and spice. I was a typical angsty teen, miserable in their own skin, raising havoc and spreading hate. Believe me when I say I’m a better person now. Believe me. Also, believe me when I say that a day will come when you appreciate all of the things your family does for you (however big of a nuisance they seem now).

  • There will get to be a point when you can appreciate the “dorky” things your mom does.
  • You will forgive your dad for intentionally trying to embarrass you in front of your friends and (hopefully) find the humor in it.
  • You will come to understand why your parents were so “hard” on you.
  • One day, you will realize that all your parents ever want is for you to be happy and healthy.
  • You will learn to become patient with your grandparents as they grow older.
  • There will come a time when you can push aside sibling rivalry and appreciate your brother/sister as a friend.
  • You will forgive your older siblings for tormenting you and apologize to your younger siblings for the torment you caused them.

I consider myself extremely blessed to be in such good standing with my family. I make a conscious effort to stay in contact (Especially important since I live over 3,000 miles away) and let them know that I appreciate them for simply being a part of my life. I send my grandparents post cards every week and call my mom multiple times a week (which is probably too much). I try to keep in touch with my brothers and check in, even if just to text “Hey, I’m thinking of you,” or write something on their Facebook wall.

The family.  We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together.  / Erma Bombeck

Family matters. You can choose your friends and those you interact with on a daily basis, but there’s not much escaping your family. There are a few things called “genes” that make it difficult to deny those who brought you into this world. It’s never too late to tend to and harvest the garden of a once tainted relationship with a family member. Live and let live. Even if a relationship never went sour to begin with, perhaps you haven’t been putting forth much of an effort to keep your family strings pulled taut and close to your heart. Start today by sending a letter to your family expressing your gratitude and appreciation for everything they do. I’m telling you – Sometimes your mom questions if she did a good job raising you, and you can easily reassure her with a few kind words. (;

If you found this article helpful, please consider a small donation to The Radical Uprise. This site exists because because readers like you choose to support it. Please click here to submit a donation. Thank you for supporting my creative endeavors. Stay radical. xx 

Leave a Reply

