“I don’t feel like it.”

Standard

As much as I’d like to be a “Yes Man,” sometimes I just plain don’t feel like getting up off my ass and making life happen. Some days I’m tired and some days I have too much work to do. Sometimes I’d rather sit at home and eat an XL pizza watching Daria, and sometimes I have about twenty Storenvy orders to fill, five letters to write and about 719 errands to run. However, none of this matters. I’m not here to talk about how busy I am or how lazy I can be.

From personal experience, I notice that I always look for an excuse when something arises I’m not necessarily interested in. Let’s put it this way. I always have work to do. Always. However, I feel like I when I’m invited to do something I don’t necessary want to do, I pull out a reason from my excuse satchel (I just like the word satchel and wanted to use it), which is typically that I have to work. This isn’t a lie. I’m never caught up on what needs done. I love my work. I love writing and packing orders. I genuinely enjoy running errands and making things. My job is, by no means, torture.

Addy

However, I always think of the episode of The Office where Pam is contemplating art school and she’s told by Jan, “There are always a million reasons not to do something.” And it’s true. As I said in a previous post, work will always be there. You’ll always have obligations. And, as I stated, sometimes you should just go ahead and ditch responsibilities and have fun. However, if you don’t feel like it, it’s okay to just plain not feel like it. You don’t have to give a reason or excuse for passing up the opportunity to see a mediocre band, or even not taking up an offer to go hiking with a friend. I feel as though sometimes you’ve got to be in the “right” mindset to partake in certain activities. It may be better off for everyone involved to just stay home when you’re feeling less than par. I’m not sure why it is, but I know in my case, I feel like I owe people a reason or explanation for not wanting to do whatever it is they offer me to do. And I don’t! And you don’t, either!

 Moral of the story: It’s OK to simply “not feel like it.” You don’t need to give an excuse or explanation. You don’t need a story to back up your decision. Practice being upfront and people will respect that more than some poor excuse like you’ve got to relabel your moth collection or rearrange your sock drawer. No one wants to hear excuses and typically people will give you options or point out faults in your excuse. If you tell someone you just “don’t feel like it,” that’s a wrap.

If you found this article helpful, please consider a small donation to The Radical Uprise. This site exists because because readers like you choose to support it. Please click here to submit a donation. Thank you for supporting my creative endeavors. Stay radical. xx 

2 responses »

  1. I can totally relate to this! I work my whole life away and then when I finally have time to do something fun with friends I never feel like it. I can never gather the courage to just say I don’t feel like it. I think I may start trying it out and see how it works out, thanks for the advice!

  2. Last week I declined an invitation with a “meh”, and felt weird about it for days. You’re right. We shouldn’t have to make excuses. We should be able to just say “no thanks” and leave it at that. I get caught in the scared-single track, where I fear that one declined invite will be the last.

Leave a Reply

