I would rather be at home eating an XL pizza by myself watching Daria.

Standard

Listening to “Animal Instinct” by The Cranberries for the thirty second time today, spinning around in my office chair and drinking cold coffee, I decided to spend my time wisely by creating an article that follows up the video I just posted about “shoulds.” I feel as though I’m a big fat slacker in regards to posting regular articles, but as I’ve expressed on Facebook, my creativity and inspiration has been stifled the past few weeks. Hey, I am human, you know.

Here’s the deal – I’m a simple kind of folk. I am (more than) content being alone. I enjoy spending my time alone in my room, watching TV and eating junk food. I adore cuddling up in bed (with myself) reading and drinking tea. I like making videos and avoiding phone calls. However, sometimes I feel like I “should” do things. The problem is, I can’t really figure out why. I get invited to do things and go places, but I generally bail because nine times out of ten, when I break free out of my cave, I spend the entire time wishing I were back in it.

I suppose we’ve got this kind of false sense of what we “should” do. Honestly, I don’t even know where it stems from. Society? Film? Sometimes I feel like instead of isolating myself, I “should” be out socializing. Am I alone in this or…? Why do I feel like I “should” do something when I’m perfectly content doing what I’m doing? I understand this entire post is coming out all rambling-like, just like my video, but I know what I’m trying to say. (;

Short and simple, here’s the moral: Do what you like. If that means sitting on Facebook lurking your crush, playing words with friends and picking at ingrown hairs on your legs, dancing in front of the mirror to Huey Lewis and the News or eating an entire XL pizza by yourself, do it. And don’t feel bad about it. That’s all I’m saying.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for this post, I feel exactly the same & reading this makes me feel a lot better about enjoying my preferred alone time rather than going out & doing the social norms. Whatever those may be. Anyway, I truly enjoyed this post. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

