Happy New Year! Seven ways to kick this week’s ass!

Standard
What better time than now to welcome a positive mental attitude into your life? Most people see January 1st as a fresh start, a blank slate, a new chapter. If this is the case, let’s make it a good one.  “Seven ways to kick this week’s ass” has been an ongoing article at The Radical Uprise for over a year. A reader favorite, “Seven ways” is here to inspire and motivate you to live each day/week/month/year to the absolute fullest. Sometimes it can be a challenge to wake up in a positive state of mind. Monday is tomorrow and you don’t want “a case of the Mondays,” do you? When you start your day out on the right foot, and maintain a positive mental attitude, the rest of your day/week/month/year is sure to follow suit. Jot these items down on your calender. Hang some on your fridge. Post them as status updates on your social networking sites. Make it a goal to accomplish something from this list every day. Call it setting yourself up for good karma, or simply being a decent human being, these tips are designed to help you get in a positive mindset and make this year utterly fabulous.

  • Write down 100 things that make you smile. Hang it on your fridge or somewhere you will see it daily. When you are having an off day, sit down with a hot cup of tea and reflect on all of these wondrous things.
  • Sign up for Couch Surfers. If you’re of age and willing, of course. The tag line? “Add an Epic Chapter to Your Life Story.” Bring in the new year with strangers crashing on your couch. Or in your tree house.
  • Read The Alchemist. A beautiful, inspiring book to read to set the tone for the new year. It’s unfortunate that I went this long in life without experiencing the goodness Paul Coelho brings to the table. You can snag a copy on eBay for just a couple of bucks. Do that.
  • Learn the symbolism behind Tarot cards. Purchase your own deck and learn along with me. Tarot cards are used as a divination tool, and they’re just plain interesting.
Source / j.l. schnabel

  • Get a bike. This is on my list of things to accomplish this year. I am lucky enough to live in a city where I don’t need a car. I rely solely on public transport and my own two feet to get me around. A bike is something I definitely desire, as it will cut my transport time down significantly, it’s fun and keeps you active! The last bike I owned was a boy’s Mongoose BMX bike, so I’ve got some learning to do. I’d love to educate myself and eventually build my own. All in good time. (; I’d better invest in a helmet.
  • Write down twenty five intentions for 2012. Mark your declaration. State your intentions, and share them with the world. It can be as simple and vague as, “I intend to develop patience and tolerance this year,” or as specific as, “I intend to see all fifty states.” Again, write down your intentions and hang them somewhere you will see them every day. Keep a Sharpie close by, so you can mark off each item as you accomplish it.
  • Have a happy, healthy new year! Many thank to all of my incredible readers. The Radical Uprise exists because people like you choose to support it. If you love what I do, and want to see more of it this year, show your support by snatching up some merchandise in the Storenvy shop or by considering a small donation. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart. Reading over some of the letters I’ve received throughout the past year, I am overwhelmed with emotion.

Best wishes to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

