Seven ways to kick this week’s ass.

Standard
  • Feel good.  I just listed a workbook on Etsy called “I want to feel good,” which will aid you in pivoting your thoughts.  Sometimes you just need a reality check every now and then, and this is a very soft, swift kick in the ass to help you feel good.
  • Quit smoking.  I know I’ve posted this before, but it’s worth mentioning again.  It baffles me why people still smoke.  After all, the animal testing is beyond cruel, it’s expensive as hell, it smells awful and, oh yeah – IT’S KILLING YOU.  I smoked for about eight or nine years (I started incredibly too young), but I quit smoking four or five years ago.  It’s been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.  It takes three days for the nicotine to leave your body.  That said, get past the 3 day hump, and it’s all in your head from there.
  • If you don’t know, find out.  Often I catch myself reading a book and I will run across a word I’m not familiar with, but I just go along my way.  I’ve recently been trying to catch myself in doing this.   Or maybe someone is trying to explain where a restaurant is located in a part of town I’m unfamilar with, and I’ll just go along with it, even if I have no idea where they’re talking about.  (Why I do this sometimes, I will never know).  If you don’t know, find out!  If you run across a word in a book you are reading you aren’t familiar with, look it up.  Unfamiliar with a part of town?  Grab a map and familiarize yourself!  Be constantly educating yourself!
  • Stop to pet the puppies.  On my way to run errands yesterday, someone was sat outside a CVS with a sign that read “PUPPIES.”  As I was stopped at the right light, I decided I just wanted to give all of them a quick squeeze.  I made a last minute right turn into CVS and pulled up the the man standing outside.  I said, “I’m not in the market for a puppy, but do you mind if I play with them for a bit?”  He laughed and said, “Sure!”  I took a few minutes to pick each one up and give them kisses.  I just love that puppy smell (is that weird?).  Moral – take time out of your day for small things that bring you joy.  If you’re five minutes late to work because you just had to pull over and play with seven week old whining puppies, so be it.
  • Read Desiderata by Max Ehrmann.  Print it out and hang it on your fridge.  Read it every day.
  • Do you.  Focus on yourself and not others.  Wear what you want to wear because you want to wear it, not to fit in or impress others.  Listen to music that brings you joy, not what you think other’s expect you to listen to.  Do you.  Be your own person and own it.  Do your own things.  Follow your own dreams.

Have a brilliant week.

One response »

Leave a Reply

