If you think you’re too small to make an impact, try going to bed at night with a mosquito in your room.

Standard

I feel like it’s an easy way out to say, “What difference does it make?  I’m only one person!  How can I make a difference?”  This is an extremely counterproductive way of thinking.  Why?  Because you can make an impact, even if you are just one person.

There’s no denying that people are extremely impressionable.  Think about it.  Look at how many advertisements and commercials are shoved in our face every single day, influencing our choices and decisions.  You, being one single person, do have the ability to impact those around you, whether you believe it or not.  Think about how a child takes after their parent’s mannerisms.  Think about how your friend’s attitude has an affect on you.

Let’s take my veganism for example.  (I promise I’m getting to a point and I’m not trying to plug a GO VEGAN ad in this post.  Just hear me out.  Here we go.)  I’ve heard a lot of people say they don’t see the point in going vegan.  “What difference does it make?  I’m only one person, and that’s not enough to make an impact.”  You’re wrong, my friend.  First of all, it is said that it takes 5000 gallons of water to produce 1 pound of meat, where a pound of wheat only takes 25 gallons.  Also, depending on where you look, it’s stated that vegetarians save 50-100 lives a year.  That alone seems like a pretty big deal.  If that doesn’t seem like a good enough reason to go vegan alone, and you still think “you’re only one person,” it all comes down to the domino effect.  Since I’ve been vegan, I’m inspired or influenced well over a hundred individuals to adopt a vegan or vegetarian diet.  How?  Simply by leading by example.  I lifestream, so I’m constantly publishing my life on the Internet.  People learn how easy and beneficial a vegan diet is, and they take it into their own hands to do something about it.  It’s incredible.  So, while it may seem like one tiny person because vegan doesn’t have that big of an impact, my actions and lifestyle reaches out to and influences others – and who’s to say each person I’ve helped transition won’t inspire and motivated a hundred others?

I’m sure you’ve heard of that saying, “Attitudes are contagious.  Is yours worth catching?”  That.  It’s true.  I can notice a drastic change in my mood when I’m hanging out with certain people.  I’m sure you can relate.  This just goes to show that (yet again), we are impressionable beings, and our surroundings have an impact on how we feel or act.  When you’re around positive and uplifting people, I’m sure you feel motivated and happy.  The same goes for the adverse.  People have an impact on us, whether we realize (or what to believe it) or not.

Here’s what I’m trying to say : Don’t let anything or anyone stop you from following your heart.  If you think you’re too small, you’re wrong.  And besides – you should be doing things you love out of passion or desire, not for the satisfaction of turning heads and getting attention.  Your actions will influence others.  Your attitude can and will make an impact on others.  Holding back from doing something because it’s not mainstream enough or seems like a “waste of time” is quite a pity.

Keep on keepin’ on.

If you found this article helpful, please consider a small donation to The Radical Uprise. This site exists because because readers like you choose to support it. Please click here to submit a donation. Thank you for supporting my creative endeavors. Stay radical. xx 

2 responses »

  1. I’ve been vegan for 5 years this month. one friend followed suit for a few months but I think it lost the novelty for her. I love it and I think it resonates with me on a deeper, animal rights level, than it did for her. For me, it’s more than just a way to eat. It’s a lifestyle. It’s who I am.
    Anyway..I like reading stuff from people who are as passionate as I am!

Leave a Reply

