Friday Riot!

Standard

I feel absolutely flustered and overwhelmed lately, and I’m trying to get to the bottom of this.  I feel as though I am spreading myself too thin, as I typically do, and I need to make some adjustments.  I hardly know the meaning of “bored” anymore, but I’m definitely okay with that.  (;  Between working and writing and making zines and spending time with friends and family, I feel as though I’ve neglected TheRadicalUprise.com, and for that I apologize.  I know I have many loyal readers, and I don’t want to leave you hanging!  My life is a bit overwhelming right now (in the best way possible).

If you want to keep in touch with me and see what I’m up to, you can be my Facebook friend, follow me on my personal Tumblr or browse what I’m putting out in the Etsy shop!

On the topic of Etsy, a whopping TWO zines were released this week.  The first, #007 :  Put Your Big Kid Pants On!

 Grow up, take charge and take control! This issue talks about maturity and responsibility. It’s time to put your big kid pants on. Are you ready?  Twenty pages with a submission from my fantastic grandmother, and one of my favorite online presences, Jessica Mullen (from JessicaMullen.com). The Mister Lister (inkforbrains.com) contributed yet another fabulous art piece. What’s not to love?  Get it HERE.

The second zine released this week is a mini quarter zine.  #008 : Un-break my heart is a small, 20 page zine on how to deal with grief and and keep reppin’ that PMA.

If you’re feeling bad, and want to feel good, you can use my three step process to overcome that crappy feeling. If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change the way you think about it. It’s all in your head. Awesome feedback from my amazing Tumblr followers, quotes, and how to use the Tone Scale to feel better.  Get it HERE.

NOTE:  For TRU subscribers, there’s a big fat typo in the first line of the very first page (Oh, the joys of self writing/editing/publishing).  This error has been fixed, but it’s there to stay for the first round (CRINGE). 

Cincinnati Pride is this weekend and, sadly, I will be unable to attend due to my work schedule, as well as my involvement with the Second Sunday on Main.  Second Sunday is “is a hip, eclectic neighborhood event, presented by the Over-the-Rhine Chamber of Commerce.”  I will be setting up a table with my zines and buttons in hopes to make some extra cash to cover my travels at the end of the month.  If you’re in the Cincinnati area, come see me!

I’ve basically been living off pizza and Peace Tea lately.  Last night I counted twelve empty cans of Peace Tea, as well as three empty pizza boxes.  Though anyone should be embarrassed of their living environment, I just chalk it up to my busy schedule and working my ass off.  I live among organized chaos.  Isn’t it said that all geniuses and artists live in chaos, or is that something I made up to make myself feel better?  (;

That’s basically it for this week!  Lots of working and writing and cutting and pasting!  Things are going to be a bit hectic over the course of the next couple of months, but I will keep you updated on all of that.  (:  I hope your week has been fantastic.  Wishing you the very best.  xx

One response »

  1. I just discovered The Radical Uprise and i think I’m in love! It is such a great idea and I hope to be getting a Zine from you! (I’ll be using snail mail because I’m weird like that and can’t seem to figure out the computer paying process, plus i don’t have a credit card becsause cash is the shit!) Hope to hear more from you and I hope all goes well in your life!
    By the way you are beautiful!

    ~bailey

Leave a Reply

