Your Emotional Guidance System and The Tone Scale.

Standard

We’re going to talk about feelings today.  I’m sure you’re somewhat familiar with them, eh?

Working from my own experience, I know that it feels good to feel good.  When I have a Positive Mental Attitude, I see the world in a better light.  I feel great, things work out for me, I make money easily, I get parking spots close to the venue I’m visiting, etc., etc.  Though my own experience, when I wake up feeling good, start off with some affirmations, put a smile on my face and choose joy, life is better.  When I wake up on the wrong side of the mattress, get angry over petty things, see the world in a negative light and so on, life isn’t so great.  I can’t find my car keys.  I trip over stuff.  I hit every red light.  I’m late for work.  Whether I’m feeling good or bad, when I focus on either, I can see more of that presence in my life.  Plain and simple – it feels good to feel good, and we should be striving towards this feeling.

We know that there are several emotions in between feeling on top of the world, and hitting rock bottom.  We can’t deny these emotions, and the scale they range from.  As mentioned on the TRU Podcast #012, there are different scales that can be used to pin-point our emotion.  Jerry and Esther’s “Emotional Guidance System” ranges from Fear/Grief/Depression/Powerlessness to Joy/Knowledge/Empowerment/Love/Appreciation.  The “Emotional Tone Scale” by L. Ron Hubbard ranges from Body Death to Serenity of Beingness.

Let’s Explore:

The Emotional Guidance System provided by Jerry and Esther Hicks through the teachings of Abraham.

  • Joy/knowledge/Empowerment/Freedom/
  • Love/Appreciation
  • Passion
  • Enthusiasm/Eagerness/Happiness
  • Positive expectation/Belief
  • Optimism
  • Hopefulness
  • Contentment
  • Boredom
  • Pessimism
  • Frustration/Irritation/Impatience
  • Overwhelming
  • Disappointment
  • Doubt
  • Worry
  • Blame
  • Discouragement
  • Anger
  • Revenge
  • Hatred/Rage
  • Jealousy
  • Insecurity/Guilt/unworthiness
  • Fear/Grief/Depression/Despair/Powerlessness

The Tone Scale provided by L. Ron Hubbard, as used by the Church of Scientology.

| Click to enlarge |

  • 40.0 Serenity of Beingness
  • 30.0 Postulates
  • 22.0 Games
  • 20.0 Action
  • 8.0 Exhilaration
  • 6.0 Aesthetic
  • 4.0 Enthusiasm
  • 3.5 Cheerfulness
  • 3.3 Strong Interest
  • 3.0 Conservatism
  • 2.9 Mild Interest
  • 2.8 Contented
  • 2.6 Disinterested
  • 2.5 Boredom
  • 2.4 Monotony
  • 2.0 Antagonism 
  • 1.9 Hostility
  • 1.8 Pain
  • 1.5 Anger
  • 1.4 Hate
  • 1.3 Resentment
  • 1.2 No-sympathy
  • 1.15 Unexpressed Resentment
  • 1.1 Covert Hostility
  • 1.02 Anxiety
  • 1.0 Fear
  • 0.98 Despair
  • 0.96 Terror
  • 0.94 Numb
  • 0.9 Sympathy
  • 0.8 Propitiation
  • 0.5 Grief
  • 0.375 Making Amends
  • 0.3 Undeserving
  • 0.2 Self-abasement
  • 0.1 Victim
  • 0.07 Hopeless
  • 0.05 Apathy
  • 0.03 Useless
  • 0.01 Dying
  • 0.0 Body Death

The point isn’t necessarily to jump from hatred to joy on the drop of a dime.  The point is to be aware of our feelings and emotions.  The point is to constantly be moving up the scale.  For some individuals, it’s difficult to get out of a slump.  Friends and family may approach them with the good ‘ole “Cheer up!” tactic (That seldom works, does it?).

We have this scale for a reason.  When we experience negative emotions, that is an indication – a warning sign, per se.  If something happens, and it causes us to feel negatively, we know that particular thing is something we do not want, and that emotion is something we do not want to feel.  While it’s not necessarily pleasant to feel bad, it allows us to be in check of our emotions.  When we know what we do not want, we realize that it is that we do want.

If you feel angry, rather than apathetic, you are progressing.  Anger is higher up on the scale than depression, so you are moving forward.  While being angry is not necessarily a “positive” emotion, it is still progressively better than depression or grief.  As nice as it would be to snap out of a bad mood and directly into a good mood, some individuals my struggle with doing so.  Instead of trying to jump from A directly to Z, work on on letter at a time.

Speaking from my own experience, it feels better to feel angry then depressed.  Let’s take break-ups, for example.  You may feel depressed and insecure after a break up.  There’s nothing fun about feeling depressed.  You feel worthless.  It’s hard to get out of bed.  Nothing sounds appetizing or appealing.  It’s a terrible state to be in.  Typically I, personally, like to get angry when in this state.  To me, feeling angry feels better than feeling depressed.  I can work up from anger by feeling discouraged or disappointed.  While these are still unfavorable emotions, they are a hell of a lot better place to be than down and depressed.  I work up the scale one emotion at a time.  I can strive to feel better, one emotion at a time, until I feel optimistic, passionate and appreciative.

Each level on the scale is a temporary state, but you do have the ability to maintain a certain state.  For example, things may happen in your life you may deem unfavorable.  You might be stuck in a boring meeting at work, which may drop your mindset from cheerful to contented, and then bored by the end of the meeting.  However, you have the power to choose your emotions, regardless of what is happening about you.  Everything is all about perception and what you make of it.  If you don’t like something, change it.  If you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.  You may not be particularly stoked on your meeting at work, but you’re going to either be stuck in the meeting, dwelling on your distaste for the meeting, or you can make the best of it.

Use these scales/systems to your advantage.  If you are feeling a particular  (negative) way, but are struggling with reaching that feeling of joy, try to progress up the scale one emotion at a time.  If you’re depressed, get angry.  If you’re feeling worried, strive to feel frustrated instead.  Work your way up the scale, one emotion at a time, until you get where you want to be (which is hopefully JOY)!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sunday Hustle « The Curious Cabinet

  2. I like the idea of having a scale, of being able to look at it and say “Hey, last January I was down around Jealousy and Insecurity/Guilt/Unworthiness but now I’m more Hopefulness and Contentment.” Also, after the worst, right before I started to feel better, I felt overwhelmed. I never would have considered Overwhelming to be such a midpoint but apparently it was.

Leave a Reply

