Self Love. Body Image. Loving yourself because your body type does not define you.

Standard

Tumblr is constantly inspiring me.  It’s honestly a black hole of amazing.  It’s probably one of the social networking sites I am most addicted to.  Follow me here.  I mainly post (IMHO) attractive, naked (or nearly naked) chicks, posi inspo, miscellaneous vegan stuff and Etsy and my web site spam.  Deal with it. (;  It’s pretty personal, and a great way to peak into my head.

I brought up Tumblr because just last week, I posted an image of me just out of the shower, and for some reason, the note count got pretty high.  When it neared 200 notes, I saw it starting to pop up on “Thinspo” blogs and it made me sad, which is the opposite of what I like to be.  I didn’t want a personal image of myself to be a “thinsporation” for your girls – starving themselves trying to achieve  this body type.  That feeling didn’t set well with me.  For those of you that don’t know, “Thinspo” refers to “Thinsporation,” which is a new era of anorexia, promoting the eating disorder as a lifestyle choice (in a nutshell).

| Source : Carina Street |

It’s pretty easy to adopt a poor body image these days.  I mean, look at the world, honestly.  We’ve somehow been told what is beautiful or attractive, and some people spend their lives striving to meet that standard.  It’s pretty upsetting when I’m trolling Tumblr and see words like this, “...This is how girls should be brought up to idolise, instead of thin, gangly women who are basically coat hangers waiting for a dress to be thrown over them. A woman with curves and feminine beauty is far more appealing.”  Why?  Bashing on someone for being “too skinny” is just as bad as bashing on someone for being “too fat.”  It’s not fun (and on a side note – I never really saw myself as a measly coat hanging “waiting for a dress to be thrown over” me – just saying).  I find this to be particularly offensive, because I get harassed for being “too skinny” and struggled with being called anorexic (I wasn’t) on the daily whilst in highschool.  I’m small and I’ve always been small.  It is literally beyond my control (and I love my body now).  I simply could not imagine going up to someone who was overweight and start bashing them for their body type.  However, there are sadly some very cruel people in the world.  It’s not right to harass someone for the way they look, whether it be their skin color, body type, hair color, breast size, etc.   It’s not right to harass anyone for anything, for that matter!

Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it. – Confucius

Beauty is purely subjective.  Merriam-Webster defines beauty as “the quality or aggregate of qualities in a person or thing that gives pleasure to the senses or pleasurably exalts the mind or spirit.”  What I find to be aesthetically pleasing may completely differ from your tastes or preferences.   Why do you think there are so many makes and models and colors of cars?  Not everyone likes the same thing.  Right?

| Source : Carina Street |

Fuck society and “beauty standards.”  Fuck bashing others on their appearance, because most of the time, the individual can’t help it (and even if they CAN, what gives you any right to?).  Let’s spread love, and positivity and happiness.  Let’s accept and support and embrace each other.  There are so many beautiful souls in this world, struggling with issues regarding body image.  Whether it be height, weight, general appearance, gender, or all of the above, we know body image is something many people struggle with.

START LOVING YOURSELF TODAY. Do what makes you feel good.  Wear what makes you feel good.  Eat what makes you feel good.  If it makes you feel good, do it.  If it doesn’t, don’t!  Your clothing does not define you.  Your height does not define you.  Your weight does not define you.  Your skin color does not define you.  Your hair does not define you.  Your gender does not define you.  Be proud of who you are.  Own it.  It’s time to start loving and accepting yourself, and alll of the beautiful souls you share this world with!  Now go give yourself a hug.

Visit The Radical Uprise on Etsy to grab TRU Zine #003 – Body Image.

This article was originally posted at jettavegas.com

4 responses »

  1. Right on!
    Possibley the most distressing images/posts I see on Tumblr are these thinsporation posts. It makes me feel really uneasy and I just want to give those girls a hug! Sometimes when I stumble across them by accident I can personally find them very triggering yet impossible to tear myself away from!
    At the other end of the spectrum I’ve have to unfollow “positive body image” sites for bashing thin girls. And refering to those as not “real” women. It can be very disheartening! And very hard to stay out of confrontation.
    I personally think a healthy body is a beautiful body no matter what its shape or size!
    Great post!

  2. Hey Jetta,
    Whilst I can’t exactly relate, it’s interesting to hear what it’s like on the other side of the fence.
    By the way, your blog is totally the highlight of my day! I only just found it like an hour ago. Score. Super keen to get my hands on some zines too!
    P.S: Let’s elope

  3. Pingback: Sunday Hustle « The Curious Cabinet

Leave a Reply

