The Choice is Yours.

Standard

Now you can get with this, or you can get with that.
I think you’ll get with this, for this is where it’s at.

| Source : Cassia |

You know what I think is one of the greatest things about life?  The power to choose.  Think about it.  You make hundreds of choices every day of your life and you may not even think about it!  Sure, there are big decisions like choosing what kind of car to buy, or where to take your next vacation.  You may be aware of daily decisions you make such as choosing what to wear to work or choosing what to eat for breakfast.  However, you can break it down a bit further than that.  You choose your thoughts.  You choose your emotions.  You are literally in the driver’s seat of life.  Any and every decision you make could completely throw you off course, or put you right where you belong.

Your choices determine your day.  Your thoughts create your reality.  If you stub your toe when you first get up out of bed, sure – it’s gonna hurt.  However, you can choose whether or not you allow this incident to put a damper on your day.  There are some people that would choose to just shrug it off and go on their way.  On the other hand, there are some people who choose to get pissed, start cussing and announce, “Oh great!  It’s gonna be one of those days!”  How you choose to react to certain situations influences how your day (or week, or month or even life) pans out.

As I always suggest – try affirmations.  If you feel as though you are a weak individual, choose strength.  For example, if you’re generally a doormat because you let people walk all over you, choose to change.  Choose to stand up for yourself.  You might want to incorporate an affirmation such as “I choose strength” into your day.  Repeat this several times (fifty is a good number to shoot for), especially when you start to feel vulnerable and/or weak.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again (and again and again).  It all comes back to a PMA.  Choosing to maintain a Positive Mental Attitude will get you farther in life.  Choosing happiness and joy instead of envy or anger will make your life a much smoother ride.  It is utterly pointless to dwell on negative things, particularly things you cannot change.  Think about the old proverb, “Worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair.  It gives you something to do, but it doesn’t get you anywhere.”  Recognize!

Try this today.  Try to be aware of your thoughts.  When a negative thought pops in your head, acknowledge it, and choose to change it.  It will take practice, but with enough time and dedication, it will come more naturally.  (:  Remember – the choice is yours.

3 responses »

  1. I agree with what you say… Again…

    Hmmm… One thing I always get stuck with is other people: What about being mindful of other people? Shouldn’t we let the people we care about have some impact on our decisions?

    If our personal thoughts shape our own reality, does this mean we have to disregard the people we care about in order to assert our ideal definition of existence? Or can our positive thoughts surround us with the people that will support our decisions, thus reinforcing or affirming us in our reality… Hmmm paradox?…

    Are we all more than just self-aware? Perhaps we must all try to be self-assertive in a reality that is clearly all about trans-personal solipsism…

    I guess the greatest strength of PMA is how it can cause a domino effect on people around us. And then good, positive decisions are made “together”, essentially… Another form of peer pressure? The BEST kind of peer pressure 🙂

    I’m not sure…
    I am still trying to get over some negative hooks in my own life.
    But fortunately I’m fully into the good vibes of The Radical Uprise at the moment…

    😉

    Keep up the good work.

    • I suppose I have to agree and disagree with you at the same time. We all shape our own realities – not each other’s. You are where you are today because of the choices you have made. Sure, we can most certainly influence, inspire and motivate (or demotivate) other beings (if we so choose to allow them to have that impact on us). However, in the end, we are all in the driver’s seat of our own lives. People are only as happy as they make up their minds to be. You can try to cheer someone up all day, but in the end, if they don’t want to be happy, it’s not going to do a bit of good. Some people are just addicted to the sad/upset feeling (while others have put themselves in that particular cycle with a certain attitude), and will continue to manifest situations that keep them at that level.

      I’m not all-knowing. That’s for damn sure. I’m stilling learning a lot – about myself, the Law of Attraction and manifesting my own desires. I’m so happy to have your input, and help/allow me to question things, use my brain – all that good stuff. I look forward to growing with you. (:

      PS – Yes. Positive peer pressure rules. We need more of that in this word. (:

  2. I get sad when I try to cheer somebody up and it doesn’t work. But then I eventually move on, realising their inability to be happy isn’t my fault. Although, I am prone to blaming myself for a lot that goes wrong…

    I thought that this was all a simple concept at first, but really it surprises me how complex it can be.

    I’m slowly understanding and I am glad that we can have these little discussions. I believe it is important if we really want to appreciate the material. 🙂

    You are right, we only have our selves to blame for the negative things that happen to us, specifically. And if negative things happen to us by the action of another, we must realise that and make the decision to move past it.

    I think it’s got something to do with being mindful – Almost Zen… Gaining control by accepting we have no control… And then enjoying the free fall… Does this make sense?

    Anyway,

    I want to suggest that you should consider writing an article on “Positive Persuasion” relating to ways (and providing specific examples) in which we can cheer somebody up, perhaps? It could be a fun article.

    The Radical Uprise zine is a perfect example of a Transmedia publication, or at least, I think so 😛

Leave a Reply

