Creating your creative circuit.

Standard

This is a new exercise I am beginning and I encourage you to come along for the ride (or coast, shall I say?).

We live in a busy, busy world.  eThis, iThis – rush, rush, rush and hurry up and wait.  We are constantly on the go and you’ve got to be honest – it’s not the healthiest thing in the world.  Do you ever realize how quickly time seems to be going by?  Like grains of sand through loose fingers, and we can’t get it back.  In the times that social networking is all the rage – between Facebook and Twitter and Tumblr and Dailybooth and Instagram and so on – We’ve got plenty to keep our minds occupied, don’t we?  If you’re anything like me, you get so easily wrapped up in these sites that “five more minutes” turns into three hours later.  We’ve all been there.

| Source : Unknown |

It’s time to break it. It’s time to slow down, and focus on the things that really matter.  Spending three hours looking at hot babes on Tumblr isn’t getting me (or you) anywhere.  Sure, it’s fun and a great way to pass the time, but it can also be a huge waste of…well – everything.

Today ends that. Today I am creating my creative circuit.  I’m the commander. I’m in charge.  You too, are the commander of your own creative circuit.  We’ve got quite an adventure ahead, I will tell you this.

A creative circuit is a designated time and space a being will allow themselves to focus on their dreams, desires and higher self. This alloted time will allow the individual to “get those creative juices flowing,” as one may say.  Taking designated time out of the day is important to focus on affirmations, meditation, creating, dreaming and manifesting.

For my creative circuit, I am taking one hour out of my day for the following:

  • 15 minutes of meditation.
  • 10 minutes of stretching and relaxation.
  • One-card tarot reading.
  • A cup of hot tea.
  • Adding to my vision board.
  • Writing.
  • Silence.

During this time, my MacBook will be turned off.  My phone will be turned off.  The TV will be turned off.  I will sit in complete silence, to allow myself full concentration toward the above mentioned.  This time can be used to jot down blog and podcast ideas in my notebook, doodle, color, or anything my heart desires.

| Source : Greensupersheep |

Imagine your creative circuit as a completely white room. An entirely blank canvas for you to fill.  Get to your creative circuit by going somewhere you won’t be disturbed.  Avoid all distractions, and sit in complete silence.  This silence may seem uncomfortable at the beginning, since we are so used to background noise, or always doing something.  This feeling will pass.  Close your eyes and focus on your breathing.  Breathe deep, and relax all muscles in your body.  Fix yourself a cup of hot tea.  Roll your neck in circles.  Stretch your arms above your head.  Soak up the silence.  Embrace the serenity.

Some suggestions to “decorate” your creative circuit:

  • A gratitude journal.
  • Comfortable clothing (or none at all!).
  • Soft music or nature sound effects.
  • A stress ball.
  • A large, soft pillow or yoga mat to sit on.
  • Magazines that interest you (travel, etc).
  • Art supplies.

You can spend as much or as little time as you please in your creative circuit.   Remember – you are the commander.  You make the rules and you call the shots.  Use this time to your advantage, and use it however you please.

Share your experiences with me!  You know I’ll be sharing mine with you.  (;

Happy traveling. xx

3 responses »

  1. This is awesome that you posted this because I have just recently been following you and you have really inspired me. I few weeks ago when I first found out about the Radical Uprise I decided to take some of the ideas and begin applying them in my life. The first thing I did before I started my blog or got caught up in school or anything else was rip down all the posters from my walls and trashed all the junk in my room. I only put a few things back up on the now pure white walls and only the essential furniture. I rearranged everything so that it allowed for a better creative flow (place desk in front of window, organized art supplies, made it big and open for meditation) It has really helped, I have never been this productive and creative ideas have never come so easily! I guess in away I made my entire room into a Creative Circuit! That saying “a cluttered space = a cluttered mind” is definitely true, at least for me anyway!
    Keep up the ass kicking!
    <3kat

  2. I’m in the process of re-designing/ass-kicking my life, with a bit of focus on the electronic time-out. I love how you call healthy downtime (uptime!) a creative circuit. Puts a lovely, artsy spin on things. (:

  3. Pingback: Seven ways to kick this week’s ass. « The Radical Uprise : Zine & Podcast for TRU Beings

Leave a Reply

