You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.

Standard

Go to high school.  Go to college.  Get a job.  Start a family.  Work.  Consume.  Work.  Consume.  Work.  Die.  That’s it?  That’s life?  I don’t know about you, but I am not okay with that.  I had always been slightly bothered by this concept that we’re “supposed” to be following some sort of plan.  What about the lovers?  The dreamers?  What about the beings with their head in the clouds, and no intention on coming down?  What about the free spirits and the wild hearts, who can’t be bothered to be tamed?

| Source : Lauren |

It seems as though beings who go against the grain are frowned upon.  “What?  You don’t plan on getting married or starting a family?”  No, in fact, I don’t. “What are you doing with your life?”  Umm…living? “When do you plan on settling down?”  Never.  (:

The last time I visited my best friend from high school, I realize that we are just in different places in our lives.  She’s practically married (which isn’t saying much – the majority of the people I graduated high school with are married with multiple kids – and this started directly after they graduated), has her own life to live and I don’t see her much anymore, sadly.  We went out to dinner (which was terrible, by the way) and she asked me when I was ever going to “settle down.”  The only thing I could think is, “Why should I?”  Perhaps I don’t have an “ultimate plan.”  I haven’t dreamt up my perfect house with a white picket fence circling a beautiful green yard and fruitful garden.  I can’t image watching my two beautiful children picking up rocks, only to discover what life forms live below us, and I don’t envision myself rocking back and forth on the porch swing with my handsome husband, watching the sun set.  Why?  I’m unconventional, I guess.

Am I missing something?  Is that such a bad thing?  I don’t believe so.

I think one of the most important things about life is living for yourself.  It’s what being a TRU being is all about.  Don’t want to pursue higher education?  Don’t. You can always go to school later in life, if you want to.  Don’t feel like working a 9-5 job?  Don’t. Find something that makes you happy and find out how to make money from it.  I don’t much see a point in drudging through life at full time job that makes you absolutely miserable.  And for what?  I believe Emily Haines of Metric says it best in Handshakes – Buy this car to drive to work. Drive to work to pay for this car.” It’s a vicious cycle, and at some point, you’ve got to break that.  Otherwise, you’ll be sixty years old, wondering where in the hell your life went to.

This month at The Radical Uprise, I intend on discussing topics relating to dreams, imagination, wanderlust, “unconventional” living, and the importance of keeping your head in the clouds.

 

 

6 responses »

  1. just thought i’d let you know that this really speaks to me. i loved your video on this subject as well. as a girl whos soon to be 16, everyone wants to know what i’m going to do with my life, theres even a class in which the main objective is to have a “plan” for when you graduate highschool. i hate that idea. i want to LIVE, really live. when you wrote this article you we’re pulling the words right out of my mouth.
    when i get my credit card i will be subscribing to your newsletter, definitely.

  2. As always I loved what you wrote here 😀 The problem with people is they think when you’re getting older you should be a mature person, which it’s good, but most people get confused and think that being mature is being bored and not to have fun. That’s a enormous mistake!

  3. This is awesome. I actually go through the same thing (but in reverse) quite a bit because I am young and chose to get married last year (but no kids!) That raises a lot of people’s eyebrows, let me tell you. Especially because we are fairly flexible happy people and people get suspicious that we aren’t miserable living this way. None of our close friends are married or have kids. Luckily, they are the people we can count on who do accept us and “get it.”

    I also choose to work a part-time retail job although I do possess a college degree. The last time I talked to my younger sister on the phone she asked me when I was planning on “doing something more with my life.” Um, hello? Her justification was, “I just know you are much smarter than doing what that kind of work calls for.” What?! Heck, I know I’m intelligent, but if I am doing the kind of work I want to (can’t imagine a full-time job/don’t want to teach & that is practically all my degree is good for) and making an amount of money I am fine with easily, why does the opinion of anyone else matter at all?? No, I don’t really want to go back to school at this point. No, I don’t feel college was a waste for me (even though back in high school every time we had to meet with a councilor to discuss college i would tell her i wasn’t going to go).

    I really think it isn’t anyone’s place to choose a path for someone else. The thought makes me panicky as to why anyone would WANT to stick their two-cents into another person’s happiness like that! I think we should all be free to do whatever the hell we want. Love yourself and do the damn thing your own way. We only get one life (that we know of 😉

  4. Pingback: destinycyan.com - on being “unconventionally conventional” (or: if it makes you happy, it can’t be that bad).

  5. Pingback: Overworked? « The Radical Uprise

Leave a Reply

